Complete Story

Submit Your Nominations for the Ohio Fire Service Hall of Fame Awards!

Once again, the Ohio Department of Public Safety, Division of EMS and the Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of State Fire Marshal are joining together to honor fire service members for exemplary service to their communities. 

The joint awards program provides an opportunity for firefighters, family members, and friends to honor the sacrifices made every day by Ohio’s firefighters and educators. Whether it is the time necessary to train in the latest firefighting techniques or time putting those skills to use, the men and women who sacrifice for the safety of others will be recognized in a special program in September at the State Fire Marshal’s office.

Nominations for awards presented by the Division of EMS will be accepted until June 25, 2018. Division of EMS awards include: 

Ohio Fire Department of the Year
Ohio Fire Service Instructor of the Year
Ohio Fire Officer of the Year
Ohio Fire Prevention Educator of the Year
Ohio Fire Educator Lifetime Achievement Award
Ohio Fire Service Citizen’s Award 
Ohio Fire Service First Responder Award 
Ohio Fire Service Valor Award 
Ohio Fire Service Distinguished Service Award 
William L. Howard Public Service Award

Click here for the fire awards nominations packet. Review the criteria for the available awards and return the nomination form by June 25, 2018 for the Division of EMS awards.

They can be emailed to or You may also send by mail to: 

Division of State Fire Marshal, Attn: Tonia Smith
8895 East Main Street
Reynoldsburg, OH, 43068

Printer-Friendly Version