OFCA Scholarship Committee Report 2022

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Chief Christopher Lyons, Chair EMS Chief Andrew Baillis

Chief Briant Galgas

Deputy Chief Thomas Granata

Chief Scott Kujawa Chief Dennis Lewis Ret. Chief Randy Pavlak Chief Robert Pursley

Chief Andrew Riddiough

Chief Barry Saley Ret. Chief Jim Steele

Ret. Assistant Chief William Tackett

Chief Christopher Theders Chief Russell Thompson Ret. Chief Mark Wolf

Chief Jeff Young

For 2022, the OFCA Scholarship Committee was responsible for awarding scholarships that were made possible by donations from the <u>Dominion Foundation</u>, the <u>Dan Herb Memorial Scholarship</u>, the <u>VFIS</u>, the <u>Southwestern Chiefs' Association</u>, and the <u>OFE Alumni Association</u>.

The Committee received seven applications for Educational Scholarships for 2022.

Each candidate's application was copied and sent to committee members for review.

Award decisions were based on each candidate's educational goals, application content and clarity, overall professionalism, letter of recommendation, and financial need. Preference was given to candidates that were served by Dominion in awarding those scholarships.

Based on the number of requests and the limited funds available, applicants were reviewed and ranked individually by Committee members. Each ranking was entered into a spreadsheet and total rankings were averaged to arrive at an overall ranking.

The OFCA Scholarship Committee has awarded the following scholarships for 2022:

Award Winner	Program	Α	ward Amount
Assistant Chief Scott Kiper	OFE Class 21		\$3,000
Lieutenant Raymond Pace	OFE Class 21		\$3,000
Fire Marshal Bryan Adams	OFE Class 22		\$3,000
Lieutenant Jason Brice	OFE Class 22		\$3,000
Captain Eric Dauer	OFE Class 20		\$3,000
Assistant Chief Jack Breese,	OFE Class 22		\$9,500
Dan Herb Memorial Scholarship			
		TOTAL:	\$24,500

Additionally, the OFCA Scholarship Committee received numerous applications for scholarships to the 2022 Ohio Fire & Rescue Officer Development Conference, and has awarded the following scholarships for 2022:

Dominion Scholarship Winner	Award Amount
Assistant Chief Lee Adams, OFC	\$250
Chief Dorothy Battles, OFE	\$250
Chief Timothy Berczik, OFE, OFC	\$250
Captain Chad Buzzard	\$250
Chief Robert Chegan	\$250
Firefighter/Paramedic Trevor Collier	\$250
Chief Jeff Deeks, OFE, OFC	\$250
Chief Charles Durham III, OFC, CFO	\$250
Firefighter Christopher Fuentes	\$250
Deputy Chief Tom Granata, OFE, OFC	\$250
Chief Cameron Haller, OFE	\$250
Chief Chad Hollinger, OFE	\$250
Lieutenant Shane Jenkins, OFO	\$250
Chief Joe Kitchen, OFC	\$250
Chief Shawn Lynch	\$250
Assistant Chief Matthew McBirney, OFE, OFC	\$250
Captain David Moore	\$250
Total	\$4,250

Essay Scholarship Winners	Award Amount
Chief Scott Bower	\$435 plus hotel for the week
Lieutenant Gina DeVito-Staub	\$435
Chief Jerry Winkler	\$435
Chief David Masirovits, OFC	\$435
Captain Alex Hoce, OFO	\$435
Deputy Chief Kai Rieger, OFE, OFC	\$435
Total	\$2610 + Hotel Room for the Week

The OFCA Scholarship Committee is grateful to the organizations identified above in making it possible to award more than \$31,000 in educational scholarship assistance members across Ohio in 2022.

Respectfully Submitted,

Chief Christopher Lyons - Chair