OFCA Safety, Health, & Wellness Committee

2022 Conference Meeting Report

The Safety, Health, & Wellness Committee has once again had a busy and productive year. The Committee has seen growth in its membership to reach a total of 53 members supporting and advancing the efforts of the Ohio Fire Chiefs' Association.

Accomplishments in the past year include:

- 6 Regularly scheduled meetings via Zoom
- 2 Regularly scheduled meetings in-person
- Committee members authored multiple articles for InCommand Magazine covering topics on NFPA 1500, CBD Oil use, Peer Support, and BWC
- Committee work related to Peer Support was extensive and included:
 - Creation of peer support for chiefs by chiefs
 - Legislative work for privileged communication
- AdHoc Committee for Peer legislation
 - The committee expanded beyond the original members to include representatives from other statewide organizations who will be key players.
 - HB545 was introduced in January 2022 and has seen multiple revisions
 - HB545 has passed the House and is awaiting for the Senate to return to session.
- Committee members presented at Winter Symposium on Peer Support
- Work is virtually complete on a best practices document related to how organizations are to handle CBD oil use amongst its members.
- The committee heard multiple presentations over the past year. These include:
 - Captain Dave Moore who presented on Hydration and Heat Acclimation for firefighters.
 - Emily Johnson who represented the IAFF Center of Excellence and the Fortitude Center. The Fortitude Center is based in Central Ohio and works with First responders with substance abuse.

The committee has seen growth in numbers over the past year and continues to see strong participation with the help of Zoom meetings. Members feel a strong commitment to not only advance the work that has been done in past year but to also search for new ways to make Ohio's fire service safer and more prepared. The committee will continue to serve and represent the Ohio Fire Chiefs' Association in the most professional manner in the coming year.

Submitted by Josh Harrison, Recording Secretary on behalf of Committee Chair Jack Rupp.