OFCA Scholarship Committee Report

2019 Award Winners

<u>COMMITTEE MEMBERS</u> Chief Christopher Lyons, Chair EMS Chief Andrew Baillis Chief Geoffrey Cleveland Chief Briant Galgas Lieutenant Thomas Granata Deputy Chief Scott Kujawa

Chief Dennis Lewis Chief Randy Pavlak Captain Robert Pursley Chief Jim Steele Chief Jeffrey Young

The OFCA Scholarship Committee received eleven applications for educational scholarships for 2018. The applicants included:

Assistant Chief Dorothy Battles Firefighter Michael Behan Lieutenant Dominic Chiappone Lieutenant Ryan Frank Lieutenant Joshua Harrison Assistant Chief Richard Morabito Lieutenant David Moore Captain Jared Morris Assistant Chief Brian Peterman Chief Russell Thompson Platoon Chief Jay Womack Thompson Fire Department Sylvania Township Fire Department Perry Joint Fire District Colerain Township Fire Department Monroe Township Fire Department Canton Township Fire Department Pleasant Township Fire Department Ross Township Fire Department Wooster Township Fire Department Greeneville Fire Department Euclid Fire Department

Each candidate's application was copied and sent to committee members for review.

For 2018, the committee had \$21,000 to award made possible by donations from the Dominion Foundation, VFIS, the Southwestern Chiefs' Association, and the OFE Alumni Association.

Award decisions were based on each candidate's educational goals, application content and clarity, overall professionalism, letter of recommendation, and financial need. Preference was given to candidates that were served by Dominion in awarding those scholarships.

Based on the number of requests and the limited funds available, applicants were reviewed and ranked individually by committee members. Each ranking was entered into a spreadsheet and total rankings were averaged to arrive at an overall ranking.

The committee has awarded the following scholarships for 2017:

Chief Russell Thompson	B.S. Fire Administration, BGSU	\$3,000
Platoon Chief Jay Womack	OFE Class 17	\$3,000
Assistant Chief Richard Morabito	OFE Class 19	\$3,000
Captain Jared Morris	OFE Class 19	\$3,000
Lieutenant Dominic Chiappone	OFE Class 18	\$3,000
Assistant Chief Dorothy Battles	OFE Class 19	\$3,000
Lieutenant Joshua Harrison	OFE Class 19	\$2,000
Lieutenant Ryan Frank	OFE Class 19	\$1,000

Total \$21,000

Respectfully Submitted,

Ow. Lynen

Chief Christopher Lyons - Chair